Third AES Candidate Conference (AES3)

Last Modified: October 24, 2000

AES Home Page
Rijndael Information
Modes of Operation
Discussion Forum
Recent News
Finalist Algorithms
Round 2 Analysis
Round 2 Comments
3rd AES Conference
R1 Algorithms
R1 Announcement
R1 Comments
2nd AES Conference
1st AES Conference
Call for Candidates
AES Beginnings

Third AES Candidate Conference (AES3)

Near the end of Round 2 of the AES Development Effort, the Third AES Candidate Conference (AES3) was held on April 13-14, 2000, at the Hilton New York and Towers in New York, New York, USA. Over 250 people from more than 25 countries attended the conference.

At AES3, Round 2 technical analysis of the finalists was presented and discussed, along with views as to which of the finalists should be selected as the AES winner(s).

AES3 followed the Fast Software Encryption Workshop 2000 (FSE2000), which was held at the same location on April 10-12, 2000.


Two photos of the AES3 finalist submitter panel (Session 8), courtesy of Markus Dichtl: 1, 2
(From left to right: Ross Anderson, Ron Rivest, Vincent Rijmen, Bruce Schneier, and Shai Halevi)

Program Committee

    Morris Dworkin (NIST)
    Miles Smid (CygnaCom Solutions)
    Tom Berson (Anagram Laboratories)
    Dennis Branstad (Consultant - TIS Labs)
    Craig Clapp (PictureTel)
    Susan Langford (Certicom)
    Stefan Lucks (Universitšt-Mannheim)
    Tim Moses (Entrust Technologies)
    David Solo (Citigroup)

Technical contact: Morris Dworkin
Administrative/process questions: Elaine Barker, Bill Burr