Privilege (Access) Management Workshop

September 1-3, 2009

Presentations from Workshop

Tuesday, September 1

Opening Remarks from NIST
Ms. Donna Dodson

NIST Workshop Overview
Ms. Sandi Roddy, NSA

Privilege Management Framework
Mr. Len LaPadula

Plenary Session: From Policy to Enforcement
Ms. K. Waterman
Dr. T. Karygiannis, NIST
Mr. David Ferraiolo, NIST

Federal Identity, Credential and Access Management (FICAM)
Mr. Paul Grant, DoD
Ms. Judith Spencer, GSA

Plenary Session: Introduce each Track Lead and 5 minutes per track on goals and objectives.

Wednesday, September 2

Welcome to Day 2

One Model: Risk Adaptive Access Control (RAdAC)
Mr. Robert McGraw, NSA

Plenary Session: What Constitutes an Authoritative Source
Mr. Roger Westman, Mitre

Plenary Session: Healthcare IT Security Issues
Dr. Deborah Lafky, HHS

Track Leads: Updates and Next Steps

  • Track 1: Privilege Management Standards, Definitions and Terms
    Track Lead:
    Ms. Emily Hawthorne, Mitre
  • Track 2: Models and Frameworks
    Track Lead:
    Dr. Vincent Hu
    Mr. Mark Ratzlaff
  • Track 3: State of Technology and Research Agenda
    Track Lead:
    Mr. Ken Berends
    Mr. David Ferraiolo
  • Track 4: Policies and Requirements
    Track Lead:
    Mr. Art Friedman
    Ms. Deb Gallagher

Thursday, September 3

Strategic planning session to collate results of the workshop and identify new actions and/or tasks to be explored, researched, studied, or completed. Output will include presenting results of workshop with estimated timeframe for way ahead. The proceedings of the workshop will be recorded in draft form. This may result in a larger pan-government conference on Privilege Management as well as publication of the NISTIR on Privilege Management.

Materials for the Workshop


Back to CSRC Events page  || Back to CSRC Homepage