Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Announcing Draft Federal Information Processing Standard (FIPS) Publication 180-3, the Secure Hash Standard, and Request for Comments
June 12, 2007

"This notice announces the Draft Federal Information Processing Standard (FIPS) 180-3, Secure Hash Standard (SHS), for public review and comment. The draft standard, designated “Draft FIPS 180-3,” is proposed to supersede FIPS 180-2. FIPS 180-2, Secure Hash Standard (SHS), August 2002, specifies secure hash algorithms (SHA) called SHA-1, SHA-256, SHA-384 and SHA-512. These algorithms produce 160, 256, 384, and 512-bit outputs, respectively, which are called message digests. An additional secure hash algorithm, called SHA-224, that produces a 224-bit output, is specified in Change Notice 1 to FIPS 180-2, which was issued in 2004. Draft FIPS 180-3 specifies five secure hash algorithms: SHA-1, SHA-224, SHA-256, SHA-384, and SHA-512. The proposed standard is available at​publications/​drafts.html.

Prior to the submission of this proposed standard to the Secretary of Commerce for review and approval, it is essential that consideration be given to the needs and views of the public, users, the information technology industry, and Federal, State, and local government organizations. The purpose of this notice is to solicit such views."

Federal Register Notice

Document Number: E7-11326

Parent Project

See: Hash Functions
Created December 16, 2016, Updated June 22, 2020