Computer Security Resource Center

Computer Security Resource Center

Computer Security
Resource Center

Announcing the Withdrawal of Six (6) Federal Information Processing Standards (FIPS)
October 19, 2015

"This notice announces the withdrawal of six Federal Information Processing Standards (FIPS): FIPS 181, FIPS 185, FIPS 188, FIPS 190, FIPS 191 and FIPS 196.

These FIPS are obsolete and are being withdrawn because they have not been updated to reference current or revised voluntary industry standards, federal specifications, or federal data standards. Federal agencies are responsible for using current voluntary industry standards and current federal specifications and data standards in their acquisition and management activities."

One public comment was received in response to the original withdrawal proposal.

Federal Register Notice

Document Number: 2015-26429
Created December 12, 2016, Updated July 06, 2017