Computer Security Resource Center

Computer Security Resource Center

Computer Security
Resource Center

Proposed Withdrawal of Six Federal Information Processing Standards
January 16, 2015

NIST proposes to withdraw six (6) Federal Information Processing Standards (FIPS) from the FIPS series. The standards proposed for withdrawal are: FIPS 181, FIPS 185, FIPS 188, FIPS 190, FIPS 191 and FIPS 196.

These FIPS are obsolete because they have not been updated to reference current or revised voluntary industry standards. They also are not updated to reflect the changes and modifications that have been made by the organizations that develop and maintain the specifications and data representations. In addition, FIPS 188 adopts specifications and data standards that are developed and maintained by other Federal government agencies and by voluntary industry standards organizations.

Prior to the submission of this proposed withdrawal of FIPS to the Secretary of Commerce for review and approval, NIST invites comments from the public, users, the information technology industry, and Federal, State and local governments and government organizations concerning the withdrawal of the FIPS.

Federal Register Notice

Document Number: 2015-00657
Created December 12, 2016, Updated July 06, 2017